Matthews wins Hart as NHL’s most valuable player

TAMPA, Fla. (AP) — Toronto’s Auston Matthews gained the Hart Trophy because the NHL’s most respected participant on Tuesday evening, beating out Edmonton’s Connor McDavid and Igor Shesterkin of the New York Rangers to win the award for the primary time.

Shesterkin claimed the Vezina Trophy because the league’s high goaltender. Colorado’s Cale Maker took the Norris Trophy, offered to the league’s greatest defenceman, and Detroit’s Moritz Seider claimed the Calder Trophy as the highest rookie.

Matthews grew to become the primary participant to attain 60 objectives since Tampa Bay’s Steven Stamkos did it 10 years in the past, serving to the Maple Leafs (54-21-7, 115 factors) set franchise information for wins and factors. Toronto misplaced to the two-time defending Stanley Cup champion Lightning within the first spherical of the playoffs.

The 24-year-old ahead additionally took residence the Ted Lindsay Award as most excellent participant within the common season, an honour decided by voting by members of the NHL Gamers Affiliation.

Shesterkin grew to become the third Rangers goalie up to now 40 years to win the Vezina, becoming a member of Henrik Lundqvist (2011-12) and John Vanbiesbrouck (1985-86). He went 36-13-4 with an NHL-best 2.07 goal-against-average and .935 save proportion earlier than main a playoff run that ended towards Tampa Bay within the Jap Convention remaining.

Seider grew to become the primary Pink Wings participant to win the Calder Trophy since goalie Roger Crozier in the course of the 1964-65 season. He led all first-year defensemen with 50 factors and completed forward of Toronto’s Michael Bunting and Anaheim’s Trevor Zegras in balloting for the award.

Maker led all defensemen with 28 objectives whereas serving to the Avalanche end with a Western Convention-best 119 factors (56-19-7). He additionally had 58 assists and ended the common season a plus-48, which was fifth greatest within the NHL.

The 2019-20 Calder Trophy winner beat out Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman and Nashville’s Roman Josi.

Calgary’s Jacob Markstrom and Nashville’s Juuse Saros have been finalists for the Vezina.


Extra AP NHL: and

Fred Goodall, The Related Press

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button