Leafs’ Auston Matthews wins Hart Trophy

TAMPA, Fla. –

Toronto’s Auston Matthews gained the Hart Trophy because the NHL’s most beneficial participant on Tuesday evening, turning into solely the third Maple Leaf to win the award and the primary since Ted Kennedy in 1954-55.

The 24-year-old ahead acquired 119 first-place votes in voting by the Skilled Hockey Writers Affiliation and completed effectively forward of Edmonton’s Connor McDavid and Igor Shesterkin of the New York Rangers for the honour introduced in the course of the NHL Awards Present.

“I am unable to lie, it feels actually good. … It is fairly particular,” Matthews stated, although he conceded there have been some bittersweet emotions about accepting the award in Tampa, the place the two-time defending champion Lightning and Colorado Avalanche will meet in Recreation 4 of the Stanley Cup Ultimate on Wednesday.

“There’s some angst, wishing you had been nonetheless taking part in,” Matthews stated.

Shesterkin claimed the Vezina Trophy because the league’s prime goaltender. Colorado’s Cale Makar took the Norris Trophy, introduced to the league’s greatest defenceman, and Detroit’s Moritz Seider claimed the Calder Trophy as the highest rookie.

Matthews turned the primary participant to attain 60 targets since Tampa Bay’s Steven Stamkos did it 10 years in the past, serving to the Maple Leafs (54-21-7, 115 factors) set franchise information for wins and factors. Toronto misplaced to the two-time defending Stanley Cup champion Lightning within the first spherical of the playoffs.

The Maple Leafs star, who posted profession bests with 46 assists and 106 factors, additionally took house the Ted Lindsay Award as most excellent participant within the common season, an honour decided by voting by members of the NHL Gamers Affiliation.

Shesterkin turned the third Rangers goalie prior to now 40 years to win the Vezina, becoming a member of Henrik Lundqvist (2011-12) and John Vanbiesbrouck (1985-86). He went 36-13-4 with an NHL-best 2.07 goal-against-average and .935 save proportion earlier than main a playoff run that ended towards Tampa Bay within the Jap Convention closing.

Seider is the primary Purple Wings participant to win the Calder Trophy since goalie Roger Crozier in the course of the 1964-65 season. He led all first-year defencemen with 50 factors and completed forward of Toronto’s Michael Bunting and Anaheim’s Trevor Zegras in balloting for the award.

Makar is the fifth defenceman to win Norris inside his first three common seasons, becoming a member of Adam Fox, Erik Karlsson, Denis Potvin and Bobby Orr (twice). He led all defencemen with 28 targets whereas serving to the Avalanche end with a Western Convention-best 119 factors (56-19-7).

The 2019-20 Calder Trophy winner beat out Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman and Nashville’s Roman Josi.

“They’re such unbelievable gamers,” Makar stated of the opposite Norris finalists. “They pushed me onerous all season.”

Calgary’s Jacob Markstrom and Nashville’s Juuse Saros had been finalists for the Vezina.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button